National Championship Denmark TT

DK Denmark, 27 Jun
1 stages, 40 km

Kasper Asgreen time trials to home glory

Kasper Asgreen time trials to home glory

Kasper Asgreen continued his strong season, claiming a maiden gold medal at the Danish National Time Trial Championships, one week before making his Tour de France debut as part of the strong eight-man Deceuninck – Quick-Step squad that will line out in Brussels.

Fourth last year, Kasper put in a perfect ride in Esbjerg and came close to breaking the sub 46-minute barrier, eventually clocking a winning effort of 46:03, which was more than 20 seconds clear of defending champion Martin Toft Madsen (BHS – Almeborg-Bornholm).

“It was quite a long time trial, but I had a good shape after Suisse and the legs felt good. The first half we had a tailwind and I had to pace myself and not go too hard, before racing full gas in the second part, knowing I could make the difference there. The course was very nice – some big roads where I could lay down the power and some corners that weren’t very technical – and if you knew them, you could take them at full speed”, Kasper explained after notching up Deceuninck – Quick-Step’s 42nd success of 2019.

Asgreen’s first full pro season hasn’t been anything short of exceptional, with the young Dane taking an unexpected runner-up spot at Ronde van Vlaanderen, before climbing to his first victory and a third place overall at the tough Tour of California – results which handed him a Tour de France debut next month.

“It’s a really awesome feeling and I’m extremely proud. In the last three years I was 3rd, 2nd and 4th at the time trial Nationals, so I have been missing that top step and I’m proud that I’m there now. It is really special to take that jersey to France for my first Tour. It’s been a great period, with a strong nine days in Suisse, getting selected for Le Tour and now becoming national champion. I am taking advantage of a great shape at the moment and I hope it continues through the Tour”, concluded Kasper, the first Danish ITT Champion in six years to be present at the Grande Boucle.


Photo credit: ©

Race details

1 Kasper Asgreen
Deceuninck - Quick Step
2 Martin Toft Madsen
BHS - Almeborg-Bornholm
3 Johan Price-Pejtersen
4 Mathias Norsgaard Jørgensen
Riwal Readynez Cycling Team
5 Mikkel Bjerg
Hagens Berman Axeon
6 Morten Hulgaard
7 Rasmus Quaade
Riwal Readynez Cycling Team
8 Christoffer Lisson
BHS - Almeborg-Bornholm
9 Casper Pedersen
Team Sunweb
10 Mads Pedersen
Trek - Segafredo